International Ice Hockey Federation

13 U.S. players named

13 U.S. players named

Nine NHLers, Matthews commit

Published 13.04.2016 16:37 GMT+3 | Author Martin Merk
13 U.S. players named
Matt Hendricks captained the United States to bronze at the last year’s IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship. Photo: Richard Wolowicz / HHOF-IIHF Images
USA Hockey has announced a preliminary list of 13 players for the upcoming 2016 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship in Moscow and St. Petersburg, Russia.

Team USA's roster currently has seven forwards, four defencemen and two goaltenders. 12 players were added last night following the initial announcement that top draft candidate Auston Matthews, who spent the season before the draft with the ZSC Lions Zurich in Switzerland, will join the team.

Matt Hendricks (Edmonton Oilers), who captained the U.S. Men's National Team to a bronze medal at the 2015 Worlds, highlights the 12 new players on the team that will be coached by John Hynes. Other players that have competed on a U.S. men's national team previously include Nick Foligno (Columbus Blue Jackets), Jake McCabe (Buffalo Sabres) and Connor Murphy (Arizona Coyotes).

Among the 13 players named, nine have skated for a U.S. national team and have combined to win 14 medals in various categories of the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship program. Nine players join from NHL teams, three from college teams and one from the Swiss league.

More players will be added leading up to the tournament that starts on 6th May. Each team can name up to 25 players with a minimum number of two goaltenders and 15 skaters having to be named by 5th May.

Team USA Preliminary Roster

Mike Condon, Montreal Canadiens (NHL)
Keith Kinkaid, New Jersey Devils (NHL)

Noah Hanifin, Carolina Hurricanes (NHL)
Jake McCabe, Buffalo Sabres (NHL)
Connor Murphy, Arizona Coyotes (NHL)
Chris Wideman, Ottawa Senators (NHL)

JT Compher, University of Michigan (Big Ten)
Kyle Connor, University of Michigan (Big Ten)
Nick Foligno, Columbus Blue Jackets (NHL)
Matt Hendricks, Edmonton Oilers (NHL)
Patrick Maroon, Edmonton Oilers (NHL)
Auston Matthews, ZSC Lions Zurich (SUI)
Tyler Motte, University of Michigan (Big Ten)

Head Coach:
John Hynes


Back to Overview