International Ice Hockey Federation

Council nominations

Council nominations

Election to take place on 19 May in Moscow

Published 12.04.2023 16:34 GMT+3 | Author Martin Merk
Council nominations
The IIHF Council will be elected for a new four-year term. Pictured is the current IIHF Council during the 2015 IIHF Annual Congress in Prague. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
22 candidates were proposed by the IIHF’s membership for the election of the IIHF Council for 2016 to 2020.

The election will take place on 19 May during the 2016 IIHF Annual Congress in Moscow.

The Congress will elect the President, three Vice Presidents (one each representing the regions of Asia/Oceania, Europe/Africa and Americas) and nine other Council members. The Council will consist of 13 voting members, of which at least two must be female members, and the General Secretary as non-voting member. The Congress will also elect two internal Auditors for the period from 2016 to 2020.

Each full member of the IIHF in good standing was invited to propose a candidate. The nominated men and women come from 22 different countries.


IIHF President:
René Fasel, Switzerland (current President)

IIHF Vice Presidents:
Kalervo Kummola, Finland (current Vice President)
Bob Nicholson, Canada (current Vice President)
Thomas Wu, Hong Kong (current Vice President)
Chunlu (Lucy) Wang, China

IIHF Council members (female):
Zsuzsanna Kolbenheyer, Hungary (current Council member)
Marta Zawadzka, Poland
Monique Scheier-Schneider, Luxembourg

IIHF Council members (male):
Luc Tardif, France (current Council member)
Igor Nemecek, Slovakia (current Council member)
Henrik Bach Nielsen, Denmark (current Council member)
Frank Gonzalez, Spain (current Council member)
Vladislav Tretiak, Russia (current Council member)
Franz Reindl, Germany
Petr Briza, Czech Republic
Matjaz Rakovec, Slovenia
Ron DeGregorio, USA
Vidar Gardarsson, Iceland
Robert van Rijswijk, Netherlands
Peter Forsberg, Sweden
Sergej Goncharov, Belarus
Joaquin de la Garma, Mexico

IIHF Auditors:
Christer Englund, Sweden (current Council member)
Fabio Oetterli, Switzerland (current Auditor)
Andrea Gios, Italy


Back to Overview