International Ice Hockey Federation

Triple Gold Club hopes

Triple Gold Club hopes

Only Canadians can join this year

Published 12.04.2023 16:34 GMT+3 | Author Andrew Podnieks
Triple Gold Club hopes
Triple Gold Club candidates: Canada's Duncan Keith, Corey Perry, Ryan Getzlaf and Brent Seabrook could join the exclusive circle by winning World Championship gold. Photo: Matthew Manor / HHOF-IIHF Images
Several players could join the Triple Gold Club this year as Sidney Crosby did in 2015. All of the candidates are Canadians.

Now that the first round of the Stanley Cup playoffs is over and the World Championship nearly upon us it’s time to look at who might join the 26 current members of the Triple Gold Club with a Cup win in the NHL or a gold medal in Moscow.

Recall that last year Sidney Crosby became the most recent player to join the TGC with Canada’s win at the Worlds in Prague. This year, a number of compatriots have the chance to join him, but it’s a tough course to get there. And, thanks to gold medals at both the 2010 and 2014 Olympics, it’s all Canada right now for TGC hopefuls.

Several players now eliminated from the Cup chase might well consider accepting offers from Hockey Canada to fly to St. Petersburg for the preliminary round of the 80th World Championship. These include Dan Boyle (New York Rangers), Jeff Carter and Drew Doughty (Los Angeles), Ryan Getzlaf and Corey Perry (Anaheim), and Duncan Keith and Brent Seabrook (Chicago). A win in Russia would give these Canadians membership of hockey’s most exclusive club.

There are also three players still in the Cup chase who could conceivably join Canada after the second round of the playoffs: Chris Kunitz (Pittsburgh), Mike Richards (Washington), and Patrick Sharp (Dallas). Of course, with the Penguins and Capitals facing each other, only one of Kunitz or Richards would be able to play in Russia.

As for players who would join TGC with a Stanley Cup victory, we started with five possible names and we’re now down to three. Roberto Luongo, trying to be the first goaltender to make the TGC, is out of the running now that his Florida Panthers have been eliminated. Rick Nash of the Rangers is also in the same situation. Both will have to wait a year to try again.

Still in the running are 32-year-old veteran Jay Bouwmeester of St. Louis; 36-year-old Patrick Marleau of San Jose; and, 30-year-old captain Shea Weber of Nashville.

The last non-Canada team to win Olympic gold was Sweden in 2006, but only three players remain active from that team: Henrik Lundqvist and Daniel and Henrik Sedin. Time is running out for this trio to join the TGC, and beyond that a team other than Canada will have to triumph in PyeongChang in 2018 for new, non-Canadians to have a chance to join.

Of the 26 Triple Gold Club members, only seven are still active: the ageless wonder himself, Jaromir Jagr, Niklas Kronwall, Henrik Zetterberg, Eric Staal, Jonathan Toews (the youngest ever member), Patrice Bergeron, and Crosby (the only player to captain all three teams of TGC requirements).


Back to Overview